Keep up-to-date with the latest news on Twitter @a516digital and via Facebook.com/a516digital.


CNN refreshes European schedule

Richard Quest moves to a new slot. [Image: CNN]

CNN reshuffles key slots across its European primetime schedule.

The international news broadcaster has today annouced a revamped schedule, which will go live week commencing 10th September 2018.

To make way for a new simulcast of The Lead with Jake Tapper weeknights at 21:00 UK, 22:00 CET, a number of programmes move to earlier slots:

The nightly business show Quest Means Business with the eccentric Richard Quest moves an hour earlier to 20:00 UK, 21:00 CET, meaning it will be on-air during the final hour of trading in Wall Street.

Hala Gorani Tonight moves to 19:00 UK, 20:00 CET as a result, with Amanpour on air at 18:00 UK, 19:00 CET.

In recent years, CNN International has been criticised for its move away from traditional world news bulletins in favour of hours of Trump-dominated discussion shows, often simulcast from CNN US. With the changes, the European primetime will end with news show CNN Today, airing at 22:00 BST, 23:00 CET.

US simulcast Wolf with Wolf Blitzer is axed from the CNN International and State of America is downgraded to a weekly show, enabling the channel to utilise time for non-US news and current affairs.

During the afternoon, the current CNNMoney slot is replaced by First Move with Julia Chatterley featuring the business news at the start of the New York trading day at 14:00 UK, 15:00 CET. International Desk and Connect The World fill the remaining afternoon hours, before more business news with Julia Chatterley and Richard Quest in The Express from 17:00 UK, 18:00 CET.

Announcing the changes, Mike McCarthy, SVP of Programming and General Manager, CNN International, said:
“With new shows and expanded programming, these changes will benefit our audiences enormously. Across business, current affairs, politics, culture and sport, CNN International viewers will get the complete picture, from around the world, in one place.”

CNN International's changes come as various competitors also look set to make changes: Euronews NBC prepares to relaunch this autumn and there's changes to the look and feel of BBC News programmes in planning.

CNN is available in the UK on Sky, Freesat, Virgin Media and TVplayer.

Weekdays from 10th September 2018
All times UK
14:00 First Move with Julia Chatterley
15:00 International Desk
16:00 Connect the World with Becky Anderson
17:00 The Express
18:00 Amanpour
19:00 Hala Gorani Tonight
20:00 Quest Means Business
21:00 The Lead with Jake Tapper
22:00 CNN Today (Friday: State of America with Kate Bolduan)
[Source: CNN]




Share on Google Plus