This website has now closed. Thank you for your visits over the years. The following sites provide alternative sources of information: | | |

Sky Sports wins National Rugby League rights

Sky Sports has announced a new deal to cover the National Rugby League (NRL) from March.

The broadcaster is taking over coverage from Premier Sports, which lost out in the latest rights deal, which will run for five years. As part of the deal, Sky Sports will show close to 200 rugby league matches per year, double last year’s total. Coverage of the League, which includes teams in Australia and New Zealand, will be carried on Sky Sports Action and Sky Sports Arena.

The deal announced this week includes:
  • Three NRL Telstra Premiership weekly matches per round
  • NRL Telstra Premiership finals series and Grand Final
  • Holden State of Origin Series,
  • plus further action from the southern hemisphere including; the Nines Tournament, NRL All Stars and Trans-Tasman, Pacific Test and Australian Test matches

Barney Francis, Managing Director of Sky Sports said:
“Sky Sports is the home of rugby league, and the addition of NRL brings the global game to our customers. We have the best of both hemispheres for Sky Sports Action and Arena to deliver every thrilling moment of one of the toughest leagues in world sport.”

Todd Greenberg, NRL CEO added: 
“We’re delighted that Sky Sports will be showcasing rugby league to this extent in 2018 and beyond. Our aim is always to ensure that as many people as possible are able to watch rugby league, and this deal will further ensure that the NRL Premiership as well as many more of our elite competitions and games will get the audience they deserve.”

The NRL season kicks-off on 8 March; with Sky’s first-pick televised games live on Saturday 10th March. Customers can tune in from 08:00 to see South Sydney Rabbitohs against the New Zealand Warriors, followed by 2017 champions Melbourne Storm beginning their title-defence against the Canterbury Bulldogs.